July 2, 2012

  • A Lazy Weekend~

    I have to say this was a very laid back weekend for us.

    No real housecleaning.

    No ripping up carpet.

    No yardwork.

    No project of any kind.

    Just everyone sitting around, doing whatever, taking it easy.

    Friday~ Abby had a headache and was sick to her stomach all day. I spent most of the day on the couch with her and read a book. Bob made his last trip to our favorite grocery store.  It went out of business and Saturday was the last day. Pork Chops on the grill for supper. Toss Salad to go with. I Love Lucy marathon on Hallmark on the tv.  Tiger's baseball.  Aaron and Jake went to a late movie.

    Saturday~ Farmer's market for Jake.  Lance's Bakery for doughnuts.   Nat worked until 2.....Water balloon fight #2.....450 water balloons!!!!!! Everyone got wet, except Jake, who was upstairs catching up on some sleep. A tripe to Kroger for some essentials.....Alli and Daddy made everyone a chocolate milkshake.  Bob and I played a game of Scrabble.  Grilled BBQ chicken, corn on the cob, and beans for supper.  I finished another book!!!  Yup, 2 books for me this weekend.  Tiger's Baseball, Nascar and more I Love Lucy on tv.

    Sunday~  We all slept in.  Swimming.  Nat and Nik walked uptown for a bit.....Burgers and Sausage on the grill, fries, cole slaw for supper.  More swimming.  A trip to Meijer for pool supplies..... Ice Cream Cones.  An evening ride in the country. More I Love Lucy. (seems to be a huge favorite here right now...whether it's on tv or the girls are popping in a dvd.....I love when they watch it though, it makes them laugh soooo much...then they have to come tell me about the episode they are watching.)

    Told ya it was nothing too exciting, lol.~  

    But, it was a nice weekend for us and we had some family fun.  It's nice that the older kids still live at home and we can have these times.  I know someday the house will be quiet and Bob and I will sit here, asking each other, do ya remember the time.......?????? At least, I think someday, this house will be quiet, lol.~

     

     

     

Comments (2)

  • i'm with you, i feel sorry for people who send their kids out, or their kids want to move out at 18. 18! i could never have imagined it. enjoy the time! the quiet will come.   mine is coming in a couple of days.  our nest will be empty of kids and pets. just. us. two.  i know i'll be fine, but it is hard. i'm glad they are not too far away. btw that sounds like an awesome weekend to me--karen

  •     We have ages 25 down to 11 still at home and we have 4 married with 14 grandchildren (#15 on the way) who visit often...trust me... your house will NEVER be quiet!!!!! lol.  Wouldn't have it any other way though (my husband might argue this point ). Sounds like you had a very relaxed weekend, rare these days.    Blessings...

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment