Month: October 2012

  • The Weekend~

    Saturday we did some baking. I’ve pinned so many recipes on Pinterest. I’ll never make them all. But, I’ve decided that we need to get busy and try some. And I’ve pinned so many cooler weather type recipes that I have such a hard time choosing which ones to try.

    So, this weekend, we tried the Snickerdoodle bread recipe, only we made ours into muffins. It was a hit! A keeper, as we like to say. I’ll be typing this one up and printing it out to put in our recipe binder. We also made our favorite Pumpkin Chip Cookies….we’ve had this recipe for some years now, so it’s not a new one for us. I have seen it on Pinterest though. Saturday night, we all crammed into the living room, w/ the exception of Jake, who couldn’t stay awake and watched a Tim Hawkins dvd……laughed ourselves silly, then called it a night.

    Sunday, I woke up with a rotten headache. No church for me. Hubby stayed home with me. Let me say how awesome it was to know that even though I wasn’t feeling well, all the kiddos got up and went to church. I have to say that my heart was so happy, knowing that even though we didn’t make it to church, the kiddos all did. Hubby had a nice breakfast of pumpkin pancakes, chocolate chip pancakes, sausage and eggs waiting for them when they got back. He also made a delicious roast beef supper, w/ potatoes and carrots, and gravy…..so good! He also threw together another favorite recipe of ours…a warm fruit salad that goes simmers away in the crockpot all day….really nice on these cooler days…….

    It was just a nice relaxing family day. Natalie and Nikki took Alli and Abby for a nice long walk. Bob and Abby went on a bike ride. Abby shadowed Bob most everywhere he went. He worked on his tree stand in the backyard for a bit. She was right out there “helping”, asking all her questions (never had a kiddo who has so many questions to ask…about everything!!) He and Abby played a couple games of Sorry. We got everyone settled down and watched a couple episodes of old tv. We are currently working our way through, Leave it to Beaver, The Dick Van Dyke Show, The Munsters, Lassie, and Dennis the Menace. I’ve also watched a couple episodes of The Andy Griffith Show. We no longer have satellite, so we’ve been relying on Netflix and Hulu for our shows…..we also have Amazon Prime and Christian Cinema dvd service, so we have plenty to watch…the only thing we are missing is the sports…but, we just can’t afford the extras. The cost of everything is going up more each day and since groceries take up the majority of our budget, we’ve been really downsizing everything we can. I’d much rather have groceries in the house, than most anything that’s on tv these days, that’s for sure.

    Today, Monday is week 3 of everyone back to school, back to work, normal routine……seems to be going pretty good so far…..Natalie loves her new job….Nikki is hanging in there w/ a very full load of classes…..All’s well w/ Aaron and Jake….the younger girls were all sick last week, so we didn’t do school, but it’s back to it today…..We had a bit of a scare w/ Bob’s new job…thought he was gonna get laid off, but it looks like it all worked out and he’s still working, so we are grateful…..trying not to worry about it and just take it as it comes…easier said than done, though,lol.

    I was hoping to have some pics from the weekend to share as well….Nikki was bopping around w/ her camera and got some good ones, but the batteries are dead now, so I can’t upload them to my computer……as soon as we get some batteries, I will try to get all caught up.