Month: September 2012

  • Just call me Goofy!!

    Okay, just so you know these “moments” or whatever you want to call them….(I refuse to call them senior moments! No offense to anyone, I’m just not a senior yet.) are not funny!!! Even though my kids might think so, I don’t! Blame it on being a mom, being hormonal, getting older, whatever, I am so over it!  So far recently, I’ve grabbed the conditioner bottle instead of the shampoo…..I’ve also shampooed my hair twice instead of shampooing, then conditioning….Today, I tried putting shampoo in my hair….wait for it……before I even wet it down!!!!  These are all hair-related I know…and can be attributed to the fact that the shampoo and conditioners look very similiar…however, I’m sure my kids could give you a whole list of goofy things that I’ve been doing these days and none of them are related to washing my hair……I feel like I’ve been losing my mind!

     

    ps…..My siblings may not feel free to comment on this post….I can only imagine what you all might say and I’m sure that anything you come up with, my kiddos have already said to me!!!

     

     

  • As summer has mostly come and gone, we’ve been spending more time indoors.

    For my kiddos, that means more baking.

    Lately, we’ve had cupcakes twice, turnovers once, carrot cake and some cookies too.

    Seems like every time I walk in the kitchen there is something tempting me!!! 

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    Aaron and Nikki haven’t started classes yet.  Next week!

    But, it seems like most everyone’s schedule is picking back up.

    Nikki is working in the bookstore on campus.  And they’ve been busy with inventory and then book sales.

    Nat just recently got a new job.  We are so happy for her.  She will be teaching preschool at the Early Learning Center on campus.

    She has great hours.  8:30 am – 4:30 pm and half-day on Friday.

    There are two teachers in the class. Such an exciting time for her!!!!

    Aaron has started back up to work.  He also works on campus.  In the tool crib for the auto/diesel departments.

    They are moving to a huge brand new building. So, they’ve been busy getting everything from one building to the next

    before classes start.  They are supposed to have an open house this Friday so everyone can see the new building.  Hope they get it all done!

    Jake is still doing what he does.  Work all night. Sleep all day.  It works for him.  He’s really trying to save some $$$ so he can get a car.

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    The younger 3 girls and I have been getting plenty of schooling done. 

    We have a pretty good groove going and it’s nice to be back into some sort of routine.

    Though it is a very relaxed one:

     

    5 -7am:  Mom is up (sometimes I wish I could sleep-in, but I do enjoy having the quiet time before anyone is up.  I can usually get my devotion done, listen to some Christian music, just enjoy the quiet house.)

    Girls sleep til they wake up.  (I really just believe they need to listen to their body-clocks and if they are still sleeping, then they must need the extra snooze.  I think it helps keep them healthy and fight off sickness better.)  Thankfully, we don’t have anyplace to be in the mornings and they are able to do this.  

    Alli is usually up…somewhere between 8 and 9 am.

    Abby next….between 9 and 10 am.

    And of course, Miss TeenAger Rosie can usually do some serious sleeping-in, though I have noticed her waking a bit earlier lately.

    They don’t move very fast in the morning either.  A bit of laying around, some breakfast and then chores.

    The older kids tease them, because I’m so much more laid-back then I ever was with them. But, I guess as we get older, we relax a bit

    in our parenting ways.

     

    We’ve just recently had to re-adjust chores. With the older kiddos being gone more now, it’s time for the younger girls to step up a bit.

    After chores, we start schoolwork.  

    Take a break for lunch.

    Finish whatever schoolwork is left.

    Free time.  Usually some tv time (though we’ve been limiting this quite a bit.), some computer time….lately, baking time…playing outside, craft time…whatever they choose.

    After supper, it’s time for showers, some tv (if there is anything on), devotion, and quiet reading.

    Lights out at 11pm.

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    I’ve got some pics to post, but when I uploaded them, they were huge!!! So gonna have to go back and re-size them, then post them.

    Back Later!

  • Back to blogging…..

    ~Good Morning~

    I’m up.

    Too early.

    Was up before Bob’s alarm went off.

    Couldn’t get back to sleep.

    Maybe I’ll try again after he leaves for work.

    Or maybe a nap later today.

    ~*~*~*~*~

     

    Saturday:

    some shopping,

    for groceries and for church outfits for the 2 youngest.

    Don’t even get me started on the styles of clothes out

    there for these girls….ugh~

    Grilled cheese for supper, but w/ all different 

    kinds of shredded cheese mixed together,

    with tomatoes and bacon.

    Alli made a carrot cake.

    From a box, (still super yummy).

    With Granny’s secret frosting recipe.

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*

     Sunday:

    Church and Sunday school.

    More trips to the grocery store.

    Bbq chicken cooked on the grill

    Reading the Sunday Paper

    on the front porch.

    Love my front porch!!!

    Especially on these cooler days.

    Some Nascar.

    A country ride.

    Lawn Mowing.

    Nikki made some yummy cookies.

    Football for some.

    Early bed-time for the parents.

    Again.

    Seems to be happening alot these days.

    Never would’ve thought all the kids

    would be up later than us.

    Probably why I’m up so early now.

    ~*~*~*~*~*~

     Monday:

    Up early w/ the hubby.

    Jake gets out at 5:15am.

    Aaron has to be at work at 9am.

    Nat and Nik both have to be to 

    work at Noon.

    Schoolwork and Housework for 

    the younger 3 and I.

    Maybe get out some of our fall decorations.

    The girls keep asking when we’re getting them out,

    so maybe today.

     ~*~*~*~*~*~*

    I can’t believe it’s already mid-September.

    The leaves on the trees here are 

    falling too fast.  Many of them 

    haven’t even turned colors yet,

    but they are coming down already.

    Not sure what will be left by October

    to enjoy all the pretty colors, 

    but hoping there are still some left.

    ~*~*~*~*~*~

     

    Happy Monday!

    Hope everyone’s week gets off to a good start!!